Creative Writing Contests

Spring 2020

Deadline: 12 noon, Friday, March 27, 2020

2020 Writing Contests

The Creative Writing Program at Emory sponsors annual contests to celebrate the best writing at Emory.  These contests are open to all undergraduate students enrolled at Emory University and Oxford College.

The Academy of American Poets Award is open to any student in the university, graduate or undergraduate, and includes a prize of $100.

A separate submission form must be filled out for each contest a student wishes to enter (please note that undergraduate students submitting for the poetry contests only need one form; they are automatically entered in both poetry contests).

All entries must be submitted as one document (submission form and contest submissions) IN WORD FORMAT via e-mail to to the Creative Writing Program office, N209 Callaway Center, no later than 12 noon, Friday, March 27, 2020. Names or other identifying information MUST NOT be on the work, only on the submission form.

Besides public recognition, recipients of the undergraduate Artistine Mann Awards in fiction, poetry, playwriting and creative non-fiction will receive a cash prize of $500 each. The recipient of the Agnes Nixon and Kiki McCabe Prize for Screenwriting will receive a $1,000 prize. The recipient of the American Academy of Poets Award will receive a $100 prize. Winners and honorable mentions will be announced later in the Spring semester -- method of announcement TBD.

Information about the Grace Abernethy Scholarships (deadline, 4 p.m., Friday, March 27, 2020)

Information about the Tom-Chris Allen Scholarship (deadline, 4 p.m., Friday, March 27, 2020)

If you are entering more than one contest, you must fill out a separate entry form for each submission.

For information about the English Department essay contests and scholarships, go to for information about the undergraduate student contests and for the graduate essay contest.