Creative Writing Contests

Spring 2022

Deadline: 12 noon, Wednesday, March 23, 2022

**Download the submission form HERE**

2022 Writing Contests

The Creative Writing Program sponsors annual contests to celebrate the best writing at Emory. These contests are open to all undergraduate students enrolled at Emory University and Oxford College.

The Academy of American Poets Prize is open to any student in the university, undergraduate or graduate, and includes a prize of $100 from the Academy and $400 from the Creative Writing Program.

A separate submission form must be filled out for each contest a student wishes to enter (please note that undergraduate students submitting for the poetry contests only need one form; they are automatically entered in both poetry contests).

All entries must be submitted as one document (form and submissions) IN WORD FORMAT to Administrative Assistant Gerri Moreland at no later than 12 noon, Wednesday, March 23, 2022. Names or other identifying information (including headers or footers) must NOT be on the work, only on the submission form.

If you are entering more than one contest, you must fill out a separate entry form for each submission.

Besides public recognition, recipients of the undergraduate Artistine Mann Awards in poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, and playwriting will receive a cash prize of $500 each. The recipient of the Agnes Nixon and Kiki McCabe Prize for Screenwriting will receive a $1,000 prize. The recipient of the Academy of American Poets Prize will receive a $500 prize. Honorable mentions will receive $100. Winners and honorable mentions will be announced later in the Spring semester -- method of announcement TBD.

2022 Scholarship Contests

Information about the Grace Abernethy Scholarships (deadline 4pm, Wednesday, March 23, 2022)

Information about the Tom-Chris Allen Scholarship (deadline 4pm, Wednesday, March 23, 2022)


For information about the English Department essay contests and scholarships, go to for information about the undergraduate student contests and for the graduate essay contest.